Central Great Lakes Chapter SPA

CONGRATULATIONS to the winners of the 2020 NATAS-Lower Great Lakes Student Production Awards!

We are thrilled to recognize some truly outstanding work done by high school students in our Chapter.

Our judges were impressed with the overall quality and abilities of these young broadcasters.  Their creativity and technical skills made this a very competitive field.

The awards were judged by broadcasting professionals who are active in the NATAS Chapter and in the region’s Emmy® Awards.  They include award-winning reporters, producers, educators and managers.

Newscast (H-01)

Project Title: Steele News Live
Video: Click here
High School: Marion L Steele High School
Student Name: Program Credit:
Aidan Woods
Macy Dimacchia
Anthony LaRosa
Aidan Johnson
Joseph Butchko
Aliyha Vidovich
Jordan Harcula
Marissa Anaya
Hallie Gornall
Kylie Olney
Juliana Stoyka
Kyle Ferguson
Ellie Schenk
Courtney Schneider
Hailee McHugh
Dominic Deshuk
MaKayla Schreiber
Troy Branchen
Assistant Director
Technical Director
Camera 1
Camera 2
Camera 3
Live Shot
Floor Director
Monitor Operator
Monitor Operator
Archive/Social Media
Archive/Social Media

Public Service (PSAs) (H-06)

Project Title: How To Avoid Phishing Scams
High School: Kenston High School
Video: Click here
Student Name: Program Credit:
Zoe Doyle Writer, Illustrator, Narrator, and Editor

Arts & Entertainment/Cultural Affairs (H-02)

Project Title: Alyvia Luong Student Artist
High School: Carroll High School
Video: Click here
Student Name: Program Credit:
Daisy Macias
JP Susantio

Short Form – Fiction (H-03)

Project Title: As Simple As Hello
High School: Ashland High School
Video: Click here
Student Name: Program Credit:
Karson Kennedy
Dylan Counts
Leah Debracy

Short Form – Non-Fiction (H-04)

Project Title: Franklin
High School: Triway High School
Video: Click here
Student Name: Program Credit:
Lucas Bailey Writer, Director, Producer, Videographer

Public Affairs/Community Service (H-13)

Project Title: Santa’s Hideaway Hollow
High School: Trumbull Career and Technical Center
Video: Click here
Student Name: Program Credit:
Isaiah Harley
Robert Carr
Trinity Hobbs
Adelia Gable
Director, Editor
Graphic Designer, Videographer, Narrator

Award Recognition:

Each winning school will receive a Crystal Pillar to display at the school, and each student whose name is on the winning entry will receive a certificate.

Any student whose name is on the entry form of a winning production may purchase a duplicate Crystal Pillar.  The 6-inch pillars cost $125 each.

Student Award Language

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) and the Lower Great Lakes Chapter is proud of the students and schools receiving this year’s Student Production Awards. However, it should be noted that NATAS restricts the use of the term “Emmy®” to professional awards.

Students may say they are recipients of a NATAS-Lower Great Lakes Regional Student Production Award. They may also say they received a Student Production Award from the NATAS-Lower Great Lakes chapter. Students and schools may use the image of the crystal pillar in their awards promotion.

It is important to note that students did not receive Emmy® awards or Student Emmy® Awards. The Emmy® name and statue are registered trademarks. Students and schools may not use the Emmy® name or figure to reference the Student Production awards. That includes mentions in publications, promotions or resumes.