Student production award recipients nominated for national competition

The Foundation of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) has announced the nominees for the 2023 National Student Production Awards, which includes five nominees from the Central Great Lakes chapter.

Nominees were selected from high school student entries across the country in 24 programming and craft categories.

Carroll High School in Fort Wayne was nominated for two national awards, in the categories of Multimedia Journalist/Video Essay and Talent/Performer.

Zoi Garwood earned a Student Production Award in our chapter for MMJ/Video Essay and was also awarded a National Student Production Award for her piece on the Bayan Yunis Art Awards (see her winning moment in the above video!)

In the Talent/Performer category, Jaina Berry earned a regional student award and a national nomination in the NSPA’s for her work on the ‘Baby Hotline’ video produced at Carroll, where instructor Bob Johnson serves as student advisor.

Under the direction of advisor Armando Valentine, Massillon Perry High School earned a regional award and a national nomination in the Commercial category for its video on the ‘MAPS Museum: Where History Takes Flight’

Massillon Washington High School also earned a regional award and a national nomination in the NSPA’s in the category of Live Sporting Event/Game.

Several students were involved in the submission including Robert Fraelich, Brayden Geier, Sebastien Cary, Katelyn Allen, Kendrick Mellows, Matt Gingras, Addison Forero, Cadyn Sheegog, Evan Shepard, and advisor Matthew J Ferrell.

Eagle Tech Academy in Columbia City also earned a regional award and a national nomination in the category of Fiction-Long Form for a piece called ‘Equivocal’ submitted by Jack Mills, Ian Harrold, Jackson Moore, and Peyton Pope, under the direction of advisor Melanie Mason.

“Every year, we at the Academy are thrilled to showcase the work of the next generation of our industry’s leaders and creators, in our National Student Production Awards. And every year we are amazed at the quality of work being created by these exceptional young people from across the country. This year is no exception!” said NATAS chairman Terry O’Reilly.

“In a dazzling showcase of talent this year’s entries are a testament of the next generation’s ability to tell beautiful, impactful and important stories.“ said Dannielle Mannion, NATAS Foundation education chair. “Our foundation is proud to honor these students who will be shaping the landscape of the television industry.”

This year’s submissions were successfully culled from more than 2000 entries from the regional chapters of The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. Entries were judged by selected industry professionals and media academics.

National student award recipients were announced in February on a web stream produced by NATAS. This and all NATAS ceremonies are available on NATAS’ dedicated viewing platform powered by Vimeo, available on the web at Watch.TheEmmys.TV and via The Emmys® apps for iOS, tvOS, Android, FireTV, Roku and Samsung TV (full list at